spanish

Faculty and Staff

 

  Daniel Frost
Associate Professor and Chair
Ph.D. Harvard University
Fields: 19th Century Spanish Literature; 19th Century Latin American Literature; Landscape Studies
Email:dfrost@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  Isabel Alvarez Borland
Distinguished Professor of Arts and Humanities
Ph.D. Pennsylvania State University
Fields: US Cuban and Latino Literature, Cuban Literature, Caribbean Literature, Contemporary Latin American Narrative
Email:ialvarez@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  M. Estrella Cibreiro-Couce
Professor
Ph.D. University of Connecticut
Fields: Women's Writing, 20th Century Spanish Theater, Film and Cultural Studies, Feminism and Literature.
Email:ecibreir@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  John T. Cull
Professor
Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Fields: European Emblem Literature, Spanish Golden Age Comedia, Spanish Golden Age Prose, Medieval Spanish Medicine, Spanish Sentimental Fiction.
Email:jcull@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  Francisco Gago-Jover
Professor
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin - Madison
Fields: Medieval Spanish Literature, History of the Spanish Language, Lexicography, Medieval Military Art and Science, Computers in Modern Languages.
Email:fgagojov@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  Josep Alba-Salas
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Cornell University
Fields: Spanish and Romance Linguistics, Theoretical Syntax (Spanish, Italian, and Catalan), Second Language Acquisition, Applied Linguistics
Email:jalba@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  Cynthia L. Stone
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Michigan
Fields: Mesoamerican Codices, Early Missionary Writings in the New World, Films set in Colonial Spanish America, Translations of Indigenous Traditions
Email:cstone@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  Bridget Franco
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of California - Irvine
Fields: Contemporary Latin American Literature, 20th/21st century Southern Cone Literature and Film, Philosophy and Politics in Literature
Email:bfranco@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  Juan G. Ramos
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Fields: 19th-21st Century Latin American and Spanish Poetry; 19th-21st Century Latin American Fiction; Aesthetics and Politics in Latin American Film and Music; Latin American Critical Thought
Email:jramos@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  Helen Freear-Papio
Director of the Foreign Language Assistants Program, Lecturer
Ph.D. University of Connecticut
Fields: Contemporary Spanish Drama written by Women, 20th Century Drama and Novel, Directed Independent Language Instruction, Technology in the Language Classroom
Email:hfreear@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  Esther L. Levine
Lecturer, Class Dean, With special responsibilities for ALANA and international students, International Scholar and Student Advisor
M.A. Brown University
Fields: Spanish Language, Contemporary Latin American Literature
Email:elevine@holycross.edu

 

  Elizabeth O'Connell-Inman
Director of the Directed Independent Spanish Curriculum, Lecturer
M.A. Brown University
Fields: Technology in the Language Classroom, Directed Independent Language Instruction, Contemporary Latin American Literarure
Email:einman@holycross.edu  Additional Information

 

  Antonia Carcelén Estrada
Visiting Lecturer
Cand. Ph.D., University of Massachusetts
Fields: postcolonial literature, colonial and contemporary Latin America, Siglo de Oro literature, translation studies, philosophy, cultural studies, art history, anthropology, and oral literature

 

  Judith Powell
Academic Administrative Assistant
Email:jpowell@holycross.edu
Phone: 508 793-3353

 

  Ellen Lokos
Visting Associate Professor
Email:elokos@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 441

 

  Ricardo Monsalve
Visiting Assistant Professor
Email:rmonsalv@holycross.edu
Office: Stein 443 PO Box: 59A